Keyword

TOPIC:

959 quarantine restoration! 3 years 10 months ago #60482

Hi,

Well, one upside of quarantine (maybe the only one?) is that I am finally getting to projects I’ve put off for years. One of these projects is the restoration of my Porsche 959, which I got for my 12th birthday in 1987. My son is now 11, and I thought this would be a good project for us to do together now that school is out and camp is cancelled.

This car has been in my parents/my attic for the last 30 odd years, and I am excited to dust it off and bring it back to its former glory!

This is my first project like this, and have a few questions maybe you guys can help me with? I plan on disassembling the entire car, but at first glance I see some broken and/or missing parts that I need some help locating.

BROKEN:
1. the front ceramic heat resistor, it is cracked and is missing the metal cover. I see metal covers on ebay, but not the resistor itself - anyone know where I can find a replacement?
2. Both bottom front steering linkages (parts F1 and F2). I see aluminum replacements on eBay - is this the best way to go for a “driver” car like this?
3. Metal antenna is broken off.
4. 3 of the tires look good, but one is torn and needs to be replaced. Should I buy a single original tire? Or are there cheaper replacements for all four?

MISSING:

1. Front right Sa12 drive shaft “dog bone”. Any idea where to find this?
2. There is a Futaba FP-R102GR installed but the antenna wire is broken off - only a few inches of the original wire antenna remain. Can just the antenna wire be replaced or do I need to replace the whole unit?

Lastly, the battery. It currently has a Tamiya EX battery (7.2v-1700mAh) and PRO/Tech “Super charger“ AC/DC 702. What is the best replacement battery and charger to use here?

Thanks in advance for any advice or help you can provide!

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Jonny Retro.

959 quarantine restoration! 3 years 10 months ago #60483