Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

technical question regarding wheel geometry 3 years 5 months ago #62981

I am a former car mechanic, i know why you need negative camber, positive track or negative, but i struggle here in the RC world.

In real life the powered wheel will always get negative track, because of the torque the motor produces. This twists the axle forward (lets forget backward driving, since there is no high speed, lot of power involved).
I noticed here in the RC world it is backward. All the powered wheels, as long as they are not also the steering wheel axle, will get positive track angle.
Could someone please explain why this is the case, i really would like to understand the reasoning behind that and not simply follow instructions.
Thx in advance,
Lem

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Lemsko.

technical question regarding wheel geometry 3 years 5 months ago #62984

I am a former car mechanic, i know why you need negative camber, positive track or negative, but i struggle here in the RC world.

In real life the powered wheel will always get negative track, because of the torque of the motor produces. This twists the axle forward (lets forget backward driving, since there is no high speed, lot of power involved).
I noticed here in the RC world it is backward. All the powered wheels, as long as they are not also the steering wheel axle, will get positive track angle.
Could someone please explain why this is the case, i really would like to understand the reasoning behind that and not simply follow instructions.
Thx in advance,
Lem

I guess postive track = toe-in, negatice track = toe-out?