Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Attaching a scratch build flatbed to a CC-01 chassis, any ideas? 6 years 3 months ago #48014

Hi, I'm building a flatbed for a Unimog 425 and am looking for ways to attach the flatbed to the chassis so it looks as realistic as possible. I''ve removed to body posts but left the body post bracket in place for a level to work from as that clears the electronics platform and ESC and receiver, but most importantly the steering column. Aside from that I have no clue how to proceed. This is my first build so do not have a knowledge base to use. I want to get the base as low as possible to hide the chassis and add fenders to the rear but I'm not sure whether to attach those to the chassis or flatbed. Any ideas? Thanks.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Oldcoldbellybadness.

Attaching a scratch build flatbed to a CC-01 chassis, any ideas? 6 years 3 months ago #48016

I'd really need to see how far you've got so far to be specific (are we talking the Tamiya CC-01 kit with the Lexan body), but a few options come to mind:

- screw the body on permanently - as long as you can change the battery (or at least get to the power connector) and get to the on/off switch, how often do you really need to get to the insides, other than on the workbench?

- some sort of toggle off an existing point on the chassis to a fixed point on the bed (only really works if you've got overhang you can get to from the underside);

- body posts fitted to the inside of the flat bed, passing through extra holes in the chassis (not entirely hidden as screw heads will be visible on the top);

- thin neodymium (sp?) magnets fixed to body & chassis, possibly bonded into holders - you do need to be careful how they're held down, the attraction between magnets could be stronger than the bond between Lexan & paint for example;

- don't worry so much about lowering the bed to add realism - add some plausible bits to the side to hide the chassis;