Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Porsche 959 r/c 4wd 1/12 scale Tamiya kit 58059 13 years 3 months ago #383

I have aquired a 1987 kit still in box with original receipt. Seems to be complete with the exception of instructions. I'm new to this sport. I have been told that this is rare and may have more value as is rather than assembled. Does anyone have knowledge about this and how do I determine the value? Any advice will be greatly appriciated.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Re: Porsche 959 r/c 4wd 1/12 scale Tamiya kit 58059 13 years 3 months ago #385

Hi Sailorman,
The Porsche 959 (58059) is indeed one sought after NIB (New In Box) model, and you're right,it is more worth unbuilt than built.
Nice examples sell on ebay.com for around USD 1200,- (condition of box and "blisters" are important and will influence price)
Take a look at this and this listing for indication of price and condition.

If you decide to keep it, bear in mind that the 59059 Porsche 959 suffers from brittle plastic in the suspension details. The plastic used in these kits has not endured the time very well, and becomes britle.
I would not recommend to build it for running, but it will be a great (altough expencive) model to put on a shelf. :cheer:

-Lars
Signature now gets correct formatting if you edit it in your Profile. Use normal BBcode if you want.
www.tamiyabase.com was formatted automatically.

Re: Porsche 959 r/c 4wd 1/12 scale Tamiya kit 58059 13 years 3 months ago #387

WOW! Thanks Lars. My box is identified as kit 5859 is that the same as 58059? This was purchased in a sale after the original owner had died. Looks like he had just started on it - the bubbles? in the package had been cut on the end for access to the bags (still in place). I'll take some pics in the near future and post them so better details. Thanks for the info. I'll probably sell this one and find something less valuable to learn on.