Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

3D printer - recommendations please 7 years 4 months ago #41846

Thinking of buying a 3D printer for work (and hobby use ;) ) but there is so much choice out there that I don't know where to start. Any recommendations?

I would also consider building my own as my work gives me access to a wide range of motion control equipment. However I don't have huge amounts of spare time, so maybe a kit is a better option.

Budget - maybe up to about £500. Could go more than that if there was an exceptional reason to.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

3D printer - recommendations please 7 years 4 months ago #41851

I've built one of the cheapest Delta printer kits available (flsun from China) and I posted a bit about it here:
tamiyabase.com/...mitstart=0

I like the printer, but I'm no expert, not even close.... it makes ok prints, but the secret is with calibration and of course print settings. The better settings, the better prints.

If you're looking for a printer to start producing parts I would look for something better/larger than mine, but if you, like me, does for the fun of building it and to admire the technology, a cheap printer might suit you well.
Signature now gets correct formatting if you edit it in your Profile. Use normal BBcode if you want.
www.tamiyabase.com was formatted automatically.

3D printer - recommendations please 7 years 4 months ago #41858

I have a CTC Dual printer which is a chinese copy of one of the makerbot printers and from what I can tell is actually better. It cost me about $550 AUD delivered and came pre-built. Its print area is about 200 x 150 x 145 mm, but I've not tested its limits. I bought the CTC printer as it reviewed well and come with two print heads so I could run ABS and PLA at the same time.

Pics and usage can be seen here -> www.tamiyaclub....er/&page=1

Overall I am happy with the CTC printer, but I did have to do a number of upgrades and still need to finish a few more.