Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

RC Boat 11 years 2 months ago #19105

Im looking for a new rc boat and was wondering if anyone could recommend a kit for me to start boat building...im a complete novice and im not keen on anything too challenging but i do want a hand built boat so guess ill have to bite the bullet and try and build one from scratch.

Alternatively if anyone has one to trade i also have a nice collection of Tamiya cars im willing to trade including my Avante 2001 for the right boat. :y:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

RC Boat 11 years 2 months ago #19108

I built a "Kitshack" Vosper RTTL kit a while back ( here ).

The kit itself was 100 GBP and was rubbish, I had to buy no end of extra raw materials myself (deck had been cut well undersize, there wasn't enough balsa or brass) not to mention all the glues, fillers, resin, sealer, paints, deck fittings, motor, mounts, prop & shaft, rudder, radio gear etc needed to finish it.

TBH although I've only used it once & found the actual running of a boat quitre boring, I'm not sure I'd want to part with it as I don't think anyone would be willing to pay anything close to the 350+ GBP I sunk into it :(

Looking back at the build thread, I did say I'd "cheat" & buy a ready made GRP hull if I was to do it again - and thinking about it, it probably would have been better to make the superstructure out of styrene sheet. The only bit worth doing in wood IMO is the deck - so unless you're dead set of having a completely scale replica of something, my advice would be to buy the bits in & make it up as you go from photographs. I have looked at some boat plans & found them completely unintelligible - and before eddrick chirps up ;) I do know my badword from an engineering drawing, I used to assemble aero & F1 parts for a living :whistle:

Attachments:

RC Boat 11 years 2 months ago #19120

Thats a pretty sweet boat i may not be able to offer the cash but id be willing to trade some Tamiya ;)