Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Retro Willy 2 9 years 9 months ago #29662

• Lee
  • Being nuts is NEAT!
  • Being nuts is NEAT!
Here's a wild willy 2 shell I've been working on. Why tamiya had to add those troublesome ridges and detailing I'll never know! I'm sure this must have been tackled before but my method (I'm brand new to model building) for removing these parts was quite time consuming. I took most of the "problem area" away with a dremel and small cutting disc, leaving it just proud of the body, this step is relatively quick if you have a steady hand. Next, to remove the remainder I used cheap wilkos emery boards, this worked out well, they're quite ridged and hold their shape so you end up with a nice flat surface. After that I just went over with finer sandpaper to smooth it out. I then primed and painted the shell.
There was a small spot I touched with the dremels chuck, my method for filling was to spray some primer into a bottle cap, allow it to start to dry and thicken then apply it in layers to the effected area, allow to harden then sand down. The outcome is very good as you can see, I'm going to need some pointers on adding the paint detail though, how on earth are people painting the rear arch and aluminium fuel tank top without making a mess?

Attachments:
The following user(s) Liked this: Jonny Retro

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Retro Willy 2 9 years 9 months ago #29663

Looking very smooth :y:
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem mate :)

Retro Willy 2 9 years 9 months ago #29666

Looking good :y:

... I'm going to need some pointers on adding the paint detail though, how on earth are people painting the rear arch and aluminium fuel tank top without making a mess?

Umm ... carefully.