Keyword
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Reproduction decals - Some questions. 10 years 3 months ago #27548

Hi there,
Does anyone know of any legal issues that could arise from creating reproduction decal sets?, I'm a graphic designer based in Tokyo and have spent the past couple of hours with a scan of a Super Hornet decal set re-drawing it in Illustrator (tasty lossless vector format).

It's more of a hobby thing for me, and rather than set up an eBay shop hawking off poor quality decal sets like a lot of people (especially when based in china it seems) seem to be doing, I would rather just freely share high quality decal set images in AI (illustrator) and high resolution PNG for others in the hobby to use freely and print for their own uses.

I see only two issues with doing this, one being the potential legal problems and the second being unscrupulous types basically using the files to print and sell their own decal sets, pretending to have been the ones to make it.

I'm aware that it's fairly common for people to step up and label themselves a designer, so I'd rather let my work speak for itself, here's a decent quality shot of the Super Hornet logo, I am planning to do the entire decal sheet in the correct colors, proportions and so on, including the original cut markers and decal numbering.

I suppose another potential solution would be for the site owner or any affiliated site, or someone with a trusted, reputable site to get in touch with me and work together in offering these decals for sale at respectable prices, so enthusiasts have a reputable, reliable and above all, trustworthy supplier of high quality reproduction decals.

I am all ears if any of you have input on the matter.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Last edit: by Iridium.

Reproduction decals - Some questions. 10 years 3 months ago #27550